Tom's story

I'm 62 years of age and I weighed nearly 21 stone. I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes 12 years ago and up until I took early retirement 15 months ago, I worked permanent nights. I have been married for 32 years and have four grown up children and three grandchildren. As those of you that have seen "Fixing Dad" will know the similarities between Geoff and myself are a little too close for comfort. Since finishing work my sugar levels had become better controlled, but only with the help of much medication.

Seeing Geoff's story was the catalyst that was needed to change my lifestyle, my motivation to improve my health was resolute and with the support of my wife and family I proceeded to start to Fix Tom. This was just over 9 weeks ago and since starting to diet I have currently lost 16.8 kilos. I started to learn to swim in January of this year and I'm currently swimming 40 lengths 5 days a week or a thousand metres a day. I have taken up Tai Chi and walk daily for about an hour. I also purchased a bike, the first I have owned since I was a boy.

 The support I have received from the coaches on the Way of Eating website has been invaluable, not just about nutrition, but about many other issues relating to the journey I'm on.

 I should also add that I have been able to reduce my insulin dose from 72 units per day to 36, while maintaining a stable blood sugar reading

Get the app

How do I fix myself or a loved one?

Do the 12 week program as a family to make the changes you need in diet, exercise and mind.
Fix myselfFix a loved one

Follow Fixing Dad

We are trying to help people #getfixed one family at a time.
Sign up to our newsletter
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter